Skip to content
Gray textured background.

Tobacco Prevention Coordinators

Tobacco Prevention Coordinators are South Dakota’s tobacco prevention experts. They provide specialized support to your organization’s or community’s work.

Need Support?

Contact A Regional Coordinator

If interested in support with any of these areas, reach out to your regional coordinator.

Coordinators are based in four regions across South Dakota. Locate your county on the Tobacco Control Program map. Then, find your coordinator’s contact information below.

Coordinators can assist in a variety of ways:

  • Communicate State Plan goals and key data
  • Provide technical assistance for grantees, coalitions and partners
  • Present health education and promotion programs like training workshops, conferences and school or community presentations
  • Share media materials that educate about the dangers of tobacco
  • Provide support in adopting voluntary smoke- and tobacco-free policies at the local level (such as multi-unit housing, schools, parks, city buildings and grounds)




Black Hills Special Services Cooperative
PO Box 72
Roscoe, SD 57471

Counties: Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Kingsbury, Marshall, McPherson, Roberts, Spink



Black Hills Special Services Cooperative
1704 S Cleveland Ave Suite 5
Sioux Falls, SD 57103

Counties: Bon Homme, Clay, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Turner, Union, Yankton



Black Hills Special Services Cooperative
1925 Plaza Blvd.
Rapid City, SD 57702

Counties: Aurora, Bennett, Brule, Buffalo, Butte, Campbell, Charles Mix, Corson, Custer, Dewey, Douglas, Fall River, Gregory, Haakon, Hand, Harding, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Jones, Lawrence, Lyman, Meade, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Pennington, Perkins, Potter,  Stanley, Sully, Todd, Tripp, Walworth, Ziebach



Kaitlyn promotes the SD QuitLine by providing education, outreach and referral resources to healthcare professionals, health systems, employers and other organizations or individuals through training, resource materials and cessation policy enhancement.

She works with health professionals around the state to advise their patients to quit using tobacco products and make referrals to the SD QuitLine. Kaitlyn is available for in-person or virtual training about the SD QuitLine, which can be tailored to suit the audience.

1704 S Cleveland Ave Suite 5
Sioux Falls, SD 57103


South Dakota Tobacco Control Program Leadership

Sierra Phelps, Tobacco Control Program Director

Sierra oversees the tobacco control program, including the SD QuitLine, community and school outreach, counter-marketing, prevention programs, surveillance and evaluation. She provides oversight for all tobacco control program development, strategic planning, grant writing, management, budget preparation, staff supervision, outreach to partners and policy development.